Steely Dan – Deacon Blues


I’ve always listened to Steely Dan…I love those guys. Yea, yea < insert lame ass Steely Dan jokes here> But, anybody who loves GOOD music, regardless of their preferred genre, can appreciate some Steely Dan and  the great stories they tell through their music.

One of my favorites it Deacon Blues. This song refers to The Wake Forest “Demon Deacons,” whose football team struggled for much of the ’70s, winning just 7 games from 1972-1975. At the same time, the University Of Alabama was a football powerhouse, winning the National Championship in 1973 and losing just one game in each of their next two seasons under the direction of their famous coach Paul “Bear” Bryant. Alabama is known as “The Crimson Tide”:

“They got a name for the winners in the world
And I want a name when I lose
They call Alabama the Crimson Tide…
Call me Deacon Blues“.

When asked about the line, “They call Alabama the Crimson Tide, they call me Deacon Blues,” Donald Fagen told Rolling Stone magazine: “Walter and I had been working on that song at a house in Malibu. I played him that line, and he said, ‘You mean it’s like, ‘They call these cracker a–holes this grandiose name like the Crimson Tide, and I’m this loser, so they call me this other grandiose name, Deacon Blues?’ and I said ‘Yeah!’ He said, ‘Cool, let’s finish it.'”

Leave a Reply

