Music Monday


 

 

 

 

 

Amy Winehouse

Amy Winehouse

Fool’s Gold – Amy Winehouse

: This song comes in so well. “She sits home and dreams/ that her man will leave his mark on her hand…” Fool’s Gold is about as young woman who becomes so desperate to tie the knot that she pretty much settles for a man who doesn’t truly love her. People talk about Amy and her drug addiction, but she is still a fantastic artist. Her ad libs mixed with great music arrangements makes her one of my favorite artists. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sNcKuHIcPxs

 

 

 

Space Cowboy-Jamiroquai:

Jamiroquai

Jamiroquai

Space Cowboy is like 2 songs mixed into 1. It starts off like a Sunday afternoon, but once the chorus comes in, it’s kind of like Studio 54 all over again. The bass in this one is nuts towards the end , and Jamiroquai displays his musical background in this one. I love it. I hope he pops up soon in the U.S. Road trip!http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ddnt_upvkFI

 

 

 

 

Mos Def and Talib Kweli

Mos Def and Talib Kweli

Brown Skin Lady-Mos Def and Talib Kweli:

 

 

 

Wow, this song brings back memories. I remember listening to this in high school during a time when I questioned my body as a black girl amongst a sea of white faces everyday at school(I was the only black girl in my class from 7th grade all the through). I found myself comparing my body to other girls that looked nothing like me. I remember on free dress days (Parkview Baptist had uniforms of course) I was instructed by the disciplinarian that I wasn’t allowed to wear jeans because I looked too provocative in them. Wow. This song reminded me to be proud in my skin and it also reminded me that everywhere else, I’m what’s up 🙂 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kjsotGlbnus

 

 

 

John Coltrane

John Coltrane

Central Park West-John Coltrane:The first time I heard this I was on a plane to New York. My dad let me hear it and I feel in love. It’s so simple yet, so beautiful. The piano solo is my favorite part of the song and of course Coltrane’s improvising is phenomenal. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k-ewdm4kNxo

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Good Vibes-Strange Fruit Project:

Strange Fruit Project

Strange Fruit Project

This hip-hop trio out of Waco, Texas is a breath of fresh air. Good Vibes is a great combination between hip-hop and neo soul. The beat is raw and soulful, and the lyrics are different with good metaphors and puns (just how I like it). It’s all about making love to hip-hop and/or to someone special. It goes both ways.http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r80Xn-J0YD0

 

 

 

me in high school

me in high school

One comment

  1. Ninja, this was brillant. I loved the levels you took me to and the imagery you werent scared to provide. I simply love the depth of which you have evolved since our hay days. How can I not respect a writer that showcases down to the smallest particle everthing I admire about writing, and what you can do with it. You better werk!!!!! lmfao

Leave a Reply

